Day 103 – The Unveiling!!

18 12 2009

The Wonder Woman

So there it is, the idea manifested into reality.  After writing yesterday’s post, I started to think more about how I would like this pattern to be.  I ultimately changed a few things, and I may still tinker with the idea some more.  Here’s a run down of what I changed.

I ended up changing the overall pattern to more of a streamer pattern.  As such, I tied it on a Daiichi 2220, size 8.  It’s the same hook that I tied the Pink Slumpbuster on.  It has a 4x-long shank and a 1x-strong wire.  To keep this pattern more in character, I figured Wonder Woman is an Amazonian woman and as such they are big and strong.  Figured this wasn’t a bad way to go.  I may have to tie a variation of this pattern if I want to tie in tandem with a Superman nymph.

Instead of using flat tinsel for the ribbing I decided to use wire.  That’s mainly a personal touch as I like the wire look better than the tinsel.  You could say that I wanted to incorporate real metal into the design, but whatever… I think the outcome made it look pretty good. 

I debated on how I wanted to do the black wings on the pattern.  The two feather hackles over the back seemed to be a better approach for a streamer pattern versus tying in some paired feathers, such as black duck feathers.  I imagine that the feathers will give the pattern a little “life” to the pattern when in the water.

Overall, I’m really proud of how this fly pattern came out.  I may just have to tie up a box of them, that’s how proud I am.  I’d like to hear some feedback from some people, and would love to test this pattern out on different water.  Any takers?

Actions

Information

One response

21 12 2009
Abigail

Very nice!

Leave a Reply

